(vid) Renaissance – Live in London 1977 — Carpet Of The Sun • Mother Russia • Can You Hear Me • Ocean Gypsy • Running Hard • Touching Once • Prologue

I was greatly impressed with Renaissance while in high school, and was able to see them at the Minnesota State Fair playing in a small pavilion to only about 25 people. I couldn’t believe my eyes, standing right in front of one of the greatest bands and most people just kept walking down the path without coming inside — for free.

Jon Camp is still my favorite bass player — having such a soaring, majestic style — a one-of-a-kind! Some compare him to Chris Squire of ‘YES,’ but Jon has always moved me more.

Annie Haslam has a 5-octave voice, and still sings incredibly at age-70: (music video) Renaissance – ‘Carpet of the Sun’ with Chamber Orchestra

Renaissance’s style was elegance, standing tall like the Redwoods; though, some of the lyrics were a bit dark, and were written by another lady, who seemed to be occult influenced. This concert has a great, upbeat feel, unlike some of their studio LP albums, like “Turn of the Cards,” which I still remember buying at the record store at 66th St. and Penn Ave. in Richfield, MN, while living in nearby Bloomington.

I must have heard them on KQRS, the progressive rock FM station that I was often glued to. They never played the same song in a 24 hour period, and had real DJs playing real vinyl LP records, sometimes entire albums. What a treat!

I’ve always been impressed with their song, “Mother Russia,” but didn’t know until hearing Jon Camp’s intro here that it’s about Alexander Solzhenitsyn, the imprisoned truther, author.

Uplifting concert here!

– –

Continue reading “(vid) Renaissance – Live in London 1977 — Carpet Of The Sun • Mother Russia • Can You Hear Me • Ocean Gypsy • Running Hard • Touching Once • Prologue”

(vid) Kraftwerk – ‘Autobahn’ (1974) – “Fahr’n fahr’n fahr’n auf der autobahn”

I remember being amazed by this and even humming it when it came out in 1974, when electronic music was just getting going:“Fahr’n fahr’n fahr’n auf der autobahn.”

KQRS FM in Minneapolis, which I was glued to, would play this extended version on a real turntable.

About ten years later, I drove the Autobahn.

Catchy tune!

– –

Continue reading “(vid) Kraftwerk – ‘Autobahn’ (1974) – “Fahr’n fahr’n fahr’n auf der autobahn””

(vid) Caroline Jones: ‘Bare Feet’ — I want to grow tall and strong like a tree / Touch the sky with my roots so deep

I’m in my bare feet
Cause I want to feel the world’s heartbeat
I want to grow tall and strong like a tree
Touch the sky with my roots so deep

• • •

Continue reading “(vid) Caroline Jones: ‘Bare Feet’ — I want to grow tall and strong like a tree / Touch the sky with my roots so deep”

(video) Glen Campbell In Concert In Sioux Falls — Incredible!

Related video: Glen Campbell Live at Sioux Falls – DVD Bonus Features

– –

Track listing

  1. Wichita Lineman” (Jimmy Webb) – 3:50
  2. Gentle on My Mind” (John Hartford) – 2:46
  3. Dreams of the Everyday Housewife” (Chris Gantry) – 2:27
  4. “Highwayman” (Jimmy Webb) – 3:01
  5. By The Time I Get To Phoenix” (Jimmy Webb) – 3:06
  6. Classical Gas (Mason Williams) – 3:04
  7. It’s Only Make Believe” (Conway TwittyJack Nance) – 2:29
  8. Little Green Apples” (Robert L. Russell) – 3:28 (duet with Debby Campbell)
  9. Southern Nights” (Allen Toussaint) – 3:01
  10. Rhinestone Cowboy” (Larry Weiss) – 3:05
  11. Galveston” (Jimmy Webb) – 4:00
  12. “Since I Fell for You” (Woodrow Johnson) – 2:52
  13. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress” (Jimmy Webb) – 3:03
  14. William Tell Overture (Gioachino Rossini, arr. by Glen Campbell, Dennis McCarthy) – 2:49
  15. “True Grit” (Don BlackElmer Bernstein) – 2:58
  16. “Still Within the Sound of My Voice” (Jimmy Webb) – 4:00
  17. Amazing Grace (John Newton) – 3:13
  18. Try a Little Kindness” (Bobby Austin, Thomas Sapaugh) – 4:57
  19. “Don’t Pull Your Love/Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye” (Lambert, Brian Potter) – 3:18
  20. Time in a Bottle” (Jim Croce) – 2:28
  21. Let It Be Me” (Gilbert Bécaud, Manny Kurtz, Pierce Leroyer) – 2:16 (duet with Debby Campbell)
  22. MacArthur Park (Jimmy Webb) – 7:34


[youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zqyQN6NnuY]Glen Campbell In Concert In Sioux Falls

Adrian McClay

Published on Nov 11, 2014

The incredible talent that is Glen Campbell, in Concert with the South Dakota Symphony in 2001. Recorded for the PBS special “Glen Campbell – In Concert”,

Continue reading “(video) Glen Campbell In Concert In Sioux Falls — Incredible!”

(video) Linkin Park – Live Acoustic Performance (Hamburg April ’17)

9:00 Chester: “Watch some…. (I was going to) say something really nasty, but I just had to stop.” Mike laughs, enabling.

– –

00:11 What I’ve Done
03:08 Crawling
08:30 Burn It Down
13:12 Battle Symphony
19:25 Heavy (with Kiiara)

LINKIN PARK – Live Akustik Performance (Hamburg April 17)

(video) Linkin Park: ‘The Catalyst’ – Brazil

“… J. Robert Oppenheimer, who described the atomic bomb as being ‘as bright as a thousand suns.’” (source)

– –

God bless us everyone
We’re a broken people living under loaded gun
And it can’t be outfought
It can’t be outdone
It can’t outmatched
It can’t be outrun

And when I close my eyes tonight
To symphonies of blinding light
Like memories in cold decay
Transmissions echoing away
Far from the world of you and I
Where oceans bleed into the sky

God save us everyone
Will we burn inside the fires of a thousand suns?
For the sins of our hand
The sins of our tongue
The sins of our father
The sins of our young

Lift me up
Let me go

Linkin Park – The Catalyst (Music and Arts Festival 2010)

Itú (São Paulo), Brazil
Fazenda Maeda
Starts With You – Music and Arts Festival
11th October 2010
South American Tour

(video) Linkin Park: ‘Leave Out All The Rest’ – Milton Keynes, England 2008

The following, bolded songs (7-13, 15) I’ve posted in order, separately:

1. One Step Closer 4:07
2. From the Inside 3:25
3. No More Sorrow 5:06
4. Given Up 3:16
5. Lying from You 3:19
6. “Hands Held High” (A cappella) 1:27
7. Leave Out All the Rest 3:24
8. Numb 3:46
9. “The Little Things Give You Away” 7:20
10. Breaking the Habit 4:25
11. Shadow of the Day 4:17
12. Crawling 4:58
13. In the End 3:50
14. “Pushing Me Away” (Piano Version) 3:18
15. What I’ve Done 5:02
16. Numb/Encore” (with Jay-Z) 3:02
17. Jigga What/Faint” (with Jay-Z) 5:11
18. Bleed It Out

Playlist source: Road to Revolution: Live at Milton Keynes

Leave Out All The Rest [Live at Milton Keynes] – Linkin Park